FAQs About The ICC World Test Championship Answered!

Cricket West Indies Concludes First Level Two Coaching Course...

30th July 2019 Comments Off on ICC Names Two New Umpires In Elite Panel For 2019-20 Views: 1115 News

ICC Names Two New Umpires In Elite Panel For 2019-20

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has named Michael Gough of England and Joel Wilson of the West Indies in the Emirates ICC Elite Panel of Umpires for the season 2019-20 following the annual review and selection process.

Gough and Wilson have been elevated from the Emirates ICC International Panel of Umpires by the selection panel consisting of ICC General Manager – Cricket, Geoff Allardice (Chairman), former player and commentator Sanjay Manjrekar, and match referees Ranjan Madugalle and David Boon.

Both these umpires have gained significant experience at the international level with Gough having officiated in nine Tests, 59 ODIs and 14 T20Is and Wilson having stood in 13 Tests, 63 ODIs and 26 T20Is. They replace retired umpire Ian Gould and Ravi Sundaram who were part of the previous panel.

Adrian Griffith, ICC Senior Manager – Umpires and Referees: “Being an elite official is an extremely challenging job. Every decision is scrutinized by millions of fans and each match official is subject to a rigorous ongoing performance assessments throughout the year. 

“We are fortunate to have some fantastic officials who are able to withstand the pressures of the job and deliver consistently on the international stage. Michael and Joel are deserving additions to the Emirates ICC Elite Panel of Umpires and I wish them all the best for the coming season and for the future.”

The other members of the Emirates ICC Elite Panel of Umpires are Aleem Dar, Kumar Dharmasena, Marais Erasmus, Chris Gaffaney, Richard Illingworth, Richard Kettleborough, Nigel Llong, Bruce Oxenford, Paul Reiffel and Rod Tucker.

The Emirates ICC Elite Panel of Match Referees remains unchanged with David Boon, Chris Broad, Jeff Crowe, Ranjan Madugalle, Andy Pycroft, Richie Richardson and Javagal Srinath the seven officials on that list.

Emirates ICC Elite Panel of Match Referees for 2019-20 (in alphabetical order):

Match RefereeTestsODIsT20Is
David Boon5513551
Chris Broad9831692
Jeff Crowe9528998
Ranjan Madugalle18735999
Andy Pycroft6917576
Richie Richardson225431
Javagal Srinath4622075

Emirates ICC Elite Panel of Umpires for 2019-20 (in alphabetical order):

Aleem Dar12620643
Kumar Dharmasena6010322
Marais Erasmus559026
Chris Gaffaney276820
Michael Gough95914
Richard Illingworth426516
Richard Kettleborough588822
Nigel Llong5612832
Bruce Oxenford559520
Paul Reiffel436816
Rod Tucker678335
Joel Wilson136326



The ICC is the global governing body for cricket. Representing 104 members, the ICC governs and administrates the game and is responsible for the staging of major international tournaments including the ICC Men’s World Cup and Women’s World Cup and the ICC Men’s and Women’s T20 World Cups as well as all associated qualifying events. 

The ICC presides over the ICC Code of Conduct which sets the professional standards of discipline for international cricket, playing conditions, bowling reviews and other ICC regulations. The Laws of the game remain under the auspices of the MCC. 

The ICC also appoints the umpires and referees that officiate at all sanctioned Test matches, One Day International and Twenty20 Internationals. Through the Anti-Corruption Unit it coordinates action against corruption and match fixing.

The ICC Development department works with Associate Members to improve the quality of international cricket, build better cricket systems, get more people playing cricket and grow the game.


Comments are closed.