FICA Responds to ICC Meeting Outcomes

Aguilleira confident T&T can defend title

30th April 2017 Comments Off on West Indies v Pakistan: Misbah-ul-Haq warns against complacency Views: 1151 News

West Indies v Pakistan: Misbah-ul-Haq warns against complacency

Pakistan captain Misbah-ul-Haq has warned his side against complacency as they seek an historic series-clinching win in the Sky Live second Test against West Indies at Kensington Oval.

Buoyed by a seven-wicket triumph in Jamaica, and with the home team struggling to compete, there is a heightened sense of anticipation for the tourists to achieve a double-first at what is considered the spiritual home of Caribbean cricket – a Test win at the venue and a Test series triumph ahead of the final match in Dominica a week later.

“Sometimes that is the main problem with the Pakistan team – you win a game and then become complacent. We don’t want that,” Misbah cautioned.

“It is more important for us to be at the top of our game in batting and bowling than worrying about who you are playing.”

Misbah-ul-Haq hit back-to-back sixes to lead Pakistan to a seven-wicket win over the West Indies.
Misbah-ul-Haq hit back-to-back sixes to lead Pakistan to a seven-wicket win over the West Indies.
Despite the success at Sabina Park, there is growing expectation that fast-medium bowler Hasan Ali, who was ruled out in Kingston because of a leg muscle strain but is now fit again, will come into the final eleven, possibly at the expense of the pacy but occasionally wayward Wahab Riaz.

While Misbah remained non-committal as to the selection options, he concurred with West Indian counterpart Jason Holder that the Kensington pitch looked extremely dry.

This introduces the possibility, although considered remote, of Shadab Khan providing a double leg-spin attack in support of the established Yasir Shah, whose six wickets in the second innings of the first Test and eight in the match earned him the man of the match award.

Leading the West Indies in a Test for the first time in his home island, Holder hoped his team could take encouragement from their series-ending victory in Sharjah last November and eliminate the mistakes that cost them dearly in Jamaica.

“We have shown that we have what it takes to win, so we just have to tick our boxes in terms of getting some runs, taking our chances (in the field) when they come, and the bowlers have to be able to get 20 wickets,” he observed.

“It’s especially important that we put runs on the board in the first innings because that sets up the game quite nicely for you.”

Highlights from day four of the first Test between the West Indies and Pakistan
Highlights from day four of the first Test between the West Indies and Pakistan
Having featured two debutants in a first Test top-order that failed to deliver significantly in both innings, it is anticipated that one of either Shimron Hetmyer or Vishaul Singh will make way for Jermaine Blackwood, who was surprisingly omitted in the series-opener to accommodate the newcomers.

Opening batsman Kraigg Brathwaite, whose unbeaten innings of 142 and 60 in Sharjah set up that rare win, will be under increased scrutiny to provide that stability at the top of the order following his double failure a week earlier.

Mindful of the countdown to the end of the distinguished international careers of both himself and fellow middle-order stalwart Younis Khan in less than two weeks’ time, Misbah noted that he was heartened by the competitive spirit in the camp.

“They look more determined to win this series badly because it will be the first series win here,” he explained. “For myself and Younis that’s good to see.”
W Indies vs Pakistan
April 30, 2017, 2:55pm
Live on Sky Sports 5 HD
Get Sky Sports Get a Sky Sports pass
Probable teams

West Indies – Jason Holder (captain), Kraigg Brathwaite, Kieran Powell, Shai Hope, Vishaul Singh, Jermaine Blackwood, Roston Chase, Shane Dowrich (wicketkeeper), Devendra Bishoo, Alzarri Joseph, Shannon Gabriel.

Pakistan – Misbah ul Haq (captain), Azhar Ali, Ahmed Shehzad, Babar Azam, Younis Khan, Asad Shafiq, Sarfraz Ahmed (wicketkeeper), Mohammad Amir, Yasir Shah, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Abbas.

Taken from Sky Sports

Comments are closed.