Anisa Mohammed and Hayley Matthews named in ICC Women’s...

Newcomer Wickham Makes Bright Start, But Rising Stars Lose...

21st January 2022 Comments Off on West Indies Start T20 World Cup Against Scotland In Hobart Views: 768 News

West Indies Start T20 World Cup Against Scotland In Hobart

West Indies will start their bid for a third ICC T20 World Cup title against Scotland in Hobart, Tasmania. The two-time world champions will see action in Group B of the first round – starting October 17. They will remain in Hobart for the other two matches against qualifiers on October 19 and 21. Once West Indies get through the qualification phase they would then join the top eight teams who have already qualified.

Full details here

In the Super 12, hosts Australia are in Group 1 with England, New Zealand, Afghanistan plus the winner of Group A and the runner-up in Group B from the first round. Group 2 features India, Pakistan, South Africa, Bangladesh, plus the winner of Group B and runner-up in Group A from the first round.

Pooran Hetmyer - T20 World Cup v Afghanistan.jpg

Fans must register prior to January 31 to get the best chance of securing their seats, before tickets go on sale to the public on February 7. Ticket pricing remains the same as the postponed 2020 event with children’s tickets available for every First Round and Super 12 match from $5, and adult tickets available at select matches in each host city from $20.

International Cricket Council CEO Geoff Allardice said:

“T20 is the global growth format for cricket and the ICC T20 World Cup 2022 will play a huge role in inspiring our next generation of players and fans as the world’s best players descend on Australia and showcase the very best of our sport. The release of fixtures is always a great moment in the delivery of a World Cup as fans start to get excited about opening games, head to heads and knock-out stages. “This schedule offers so much, from the 2014 Champions Sri Lanka opening the event, to our defending champions Australia starting with a rematch of the 2021 Men’s T20 World Cup Final against New Zealand and of course India taking on Pakistan at the MCG. We know that hundreds of thousands of passionate cricket fans will turn out to support every single one of the 16 teams across all seven of our host cities which is what makes it so special for the players. You only need to cast your mind back to the brilliant ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2020 in Australia to know that this is going to be a wonderful event for players and fans alike.”

West indies remain the only team to win the ICC T20 World Cup on two occasions. They first victory was in 2012 against Sri Lanka at the Premadasa Stadium in Colombo under the captaincy of Daren Sammy. The allrounder was again at the helm in 2016 when his team beat England in a dramatic finish at Eden Gardens in Kolkata.


Comments are closed.