West Indies Name Test And T20I Squads For Tour...

Four Top West Indies Women Cricket Stars Set For...

21st October 2020 Comments Off on Romario Shepherd To Replace Dwayne Bravo On New Zealand Tour Views: 1427 News

Romario Shepherd To Replace Dwayne Bravo On New Zealand Tour

ST JOHN’S, Antigua – West Indies all-rounder Dwayne Bravo has been ruled out of the upcoming tour of New Zealand due to a groin injury. The experienced 37-year-old sustained the injury on Saturday whilst playing for the Chennai Super Kings in the Indian Premier League (IPL).

Bravo, the two-time T20 World Cup winner, will now return to Trinidad to continue his rehabilitation. He will be replaced by Romario Shepherd, the 25-year-old all-rounder, who made his international debut last year against Afghanistan and received his cap from Bravo himself.

Shepherd has so far played five One-Day Internationals and two T20 Internationals (T20Is).

The defending ICC T20 World Cup champions will visit New Zealand from November 27 to December 15. They will start the tour with three T20Is, followed by two Test matches as part of the ICC World Test Championship.

Bravo said:

“I was really looking forward to the tour of New Zealand as it has been so many months since I last wore maroon in Sri Lanka back in March and we are all so excited about building towards defending our T20 World Cup next year. Unfortunately, the injury I sustained on Saturday playing for CSK has not only ruled me out of the IPL but also the tour. I’m making arrangements to return to Trinidad over the next few days where I will continue my rehab and treatment. I’m fully committed to representing the West Indies and I just need to get myself stronger again.”

Dwayne Bravo - 2nd T20I vs Sri Lanka.jpg

Shepherd said:

“This is a great opportunity for me, and I want to take it with both hands. I was in the team before, last year and earlier this year, so I have a good feel of the game at this level. I’ve been training hard and working at all areas of my game so I’m ready.”

Romario Shepherd.jpg


T20I Squad

  • Kieron Pollard (captain)
  • Fabian Allen
  • Sheldon Cottrell
  • Andre Fletcher
  • Shimron Hetmyer
  • Brandon King
  • Kyle Mayers
  • Rovman Powell
  • Keemo Paul
  • Nicholas Pooran
  • Romario Shepherd
  • Oshane Thomas
  • Hayden Walsh Jr
  • Kesrick Williams

Test Squad

  • Jason Holder (captain)
  • Jermaine Blackwood
  • Kraigg Brathwaite
  • Darren Bravo
  • Shamarh Brooks
  • John Campbell
  • Roston Chase
  • Rahkeem Cornwall
  • Shane Dowrich
  • Shannon Gabriel
  • Shimron Hetmyer
  • Chemar Holder
  • Alzarri Joseph
  • Keemo Paul
  • Kemar Roach

Test Reserves

  • Nkrumah Bonner
  • Joshua DaSilva
  • Preston McSween
  • Shayne Moseley
  • Raymon Reifer
  • Jayden Seales


  • November 27: 1st T20I at Eden Park, Auckland
  • November 29: 2nd T20I at Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui
  • November 30: 3rd T20I at Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui
  • December 3-7: 1st Test at Seddon Park, Hamilton
  • December 11-15: 2nd Test at Basin Reserve, Wellington


Comments are closed.