Young Hector the Future of Leeward Islands Cricket

Fast Bowling Remains A Priority for Cricket West Indies

31st July 2018 Comments Off on CWI Names 13-Man Squad For T20I Against Bangladesh Views: 1222 News

CWI Names 13-Man Squad For T20I Against Bangladesh

ST JOHN’S, ANTIGUA – WINDIES will now turn its attention to the three T20Is remaining on the Bangladesh tour of the region with one match in St Kitts and the other two in Florida, starting tomorrow at 8pm. The Selection Panel has assembled a 13-man squad to face the visitors.

The squad reads:

  • Carlos Brathwaite – Captain
  • Samuel Badree
  • Sheldon Cottrell
  • Andre Fletcher
  • Evin Lewis
  • Ashley Nurse
  • Keemo Paul
  • Rovman Powell
  • Denesh Ramdin
  • Andre Russell
  • Marlon Samuels
  • Chadwick Walton
  • Kesrick Williams


Chairman of Selectors, Courtney Browne, says “we have rested Chris Gayle and have added left-arm pacer, Sheldon Cottrell for variety to the bowling attack. The team reflects the last squad that performed well in the charity match in the UK.

Going forward, the panel thinks the talent pool for the T20 version is widening and acknowledges “the strong performances of the young players in the WINDIES B team during the T20 series in the Canada’s Global T20 League and this augurs well for our T20 game.”

Head Coach, Stuart Law has not hidden his disappointment in the 1-2 loss in the ODI but is “optimistic that the players are beginning to understand the direction they need to go. The players are gradually working harder and we expect the results to turn in our favor.”


The schedule for the three-matches is:

Tue, Jul 31 1st Twenty20 International – Warner Park (8 pm)
Sat, Aug 4 2nd Twenty20 International – Central Broward Regional Park, United States (8 pm)
Sun, Aug 5 3rd Twenty20 International – Central Broward Regional Park (8 pm)


Comments are closed.