Peters, Cummins in mix to replace injured Roach

Staying with Sammy

21st December 2014 Comments Off on Carter gets ODI call Views: 1559 News

Carter gets ODI call

ST JOHN’S, Antigua – Jonathan Carter has received his maiden overseas tour call and Narsingh Deonarine makes a comeback after some strong recent performances.

These are some of the changes announced today by the West Indies Cricket Board for the One-Day International squad, which will be captained by Barbadian Jason Holder.

Left-handed batsman Leon Johnson is retained and all-rounders Carlos Brathwaite and Andre Russell are also included in the squad which has the experienced top order duo of Chris Gayle (subject to fitness test) and Dwayne Smith.

Fast bowling will be handled by Jerome Taylor with support from Sheldon Cottrell. Sulieman Benn is the lone specialist spinner in the ODI squad. Kemar Roach, who was originally identified for selection, has joined the injury list.

A replacement player will be named shortly.

“We have decided to introduce a few new players to the international stage and once they deliver the performances we are looking for we believe we have the right kind of foundation to take the game forward,” said Clive Lloyd, chairman of the Selection Panel.

“We are in a situation where we want to go up the ladder in all three formats and aim to form teams which will take us there.”

All selections are contingent upon players signing the Match Tour Contract.

West Indies One Day International Squad:

Jason Holder (Captain), Sulieman Benn, Carlos Brathwaite, Jonathan Carter, Sheldon Cottrell, Narsingh Deonarine, Leon Johnson, Chris Gayle, Denesh Ramdin, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Lendl Simmons, Dwayne Smith, Jerome Taylor, 15th member to be named shortly.

Schedule of Matches

December 10-12: vs SA Invitational XI at Willowmore Park, Benoni – Match Drawn

December 17-21: 1st Test – South Africa won by an innings and 220 runs – SuperSport Park, Centurion

December 26-30: 2nd Test – St George’s Park, Port Elizabeth

January 2-6: 3rd Test – Newlands, Cape Town

January 9: 1st T20I – Newlands, Cape Town

January 11: 2nd T20I – New Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg

January 14: 3rd T20I – Kingsmead, Durban

January 16: 1st ODI – Kingsmead, Durban

January 18: 2nd ODI – New Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg

January 21: 3rd ODI – Buffalo Park, East London

January 25: 4th ODI – St George’s Park, Port Elizabeth

January 28: 5th ODI – SuperSport Park, Centurion (PR/SAT)

Taken from the Barbados Nation News

Comments are closed.