Windies Suffer 224-Run Defeat In 4th ODI

Young Windies Squad For Three T20Is Against India

1st November 2018 Comments Off on Windies Suffer 3-1 ODI Series Defeat To India Views: 994 News

Windies Suffer 3-1 ODI Series Defeat To India

TRIVANDRUM, India – THE WINDIES suffered a 9-wicket defeat in the 5th One Day International at the Greenfield International Stadium in Trivandrum, thereby handing India a 3-1 series win.

The WINDIES won the toss for the first time in the series and elected to bat first. Wickets started tumbling in the very first over, when Kieran Powell edged behind for 0. Shai Hope misfortunes continued as he failed to score for the second time in as many matches, when Bumrah lit up his stumps. Marlon Samuels and promoted opening batsman Rovman Powell stitched together a 34-run partnership, the highest of the WINDIES innings in the hope of posting a defendable total.

Ravindra Jadeja was introduced picking up Marlon Samuels for 24 as the first of his four wickets. Captain Jason Holder was the only other WINDIES batsman to reach double figures, he made 25 before Khaleel Ahmed scalped his wicket. The WINDIES were all out for 104 in 31.5 overs. Ravindra Jadeja was the best bowler for India, finishing with 4/34, while Jasprit Bumrah had 2/11 and Khaleel Ahmed 2/29.

India made easy work of the target not before Shikhar Dhawan was bowled by Oshane Thomas for 6. Rohit Sharma and Captain Virat Kohli refocused and went after the target. Sharma raced to another half-century in getting to the meagre total, he finished on 63 not out, which included 5-fours and 4-sixes, while Kohli ended on 33 not out, comprising of 6-fours. India got to 105/1 in 14.5 overs. Ravindra Jadeja was Player of the Match, while Virat Kohli was Player of the Series.

The WINDIES move on next to Kolkata for the start of the 3-match T20 series on November 4.



Please visit WINDIES CRICKET Facebook page for post-match interview with WINDIES Head Coach Stuart Law (see link below)


ODI Squad – India 2018

  1. Jason Holder (Captain)
  2. Fabian Allen
  3. Sunil Ambris
  4. Devendra Bishoo
  5. Chanderpaul Hemraj
  6. Shimron Hetmyer
  7. Shai Hope
  8. Obed McCoy
  9. Ashley Nurse
  10. Keemo Paul
  11. Kieran Powell
  12. Rovman Powell
  13. Kemar Roach
  14. Marlon Samuels
  15. Oshane Thomas



1st Test October 4-8 Rajkot
2nd Test October 12-16 Hyderabad
1st ODI October 21 Guwahati
2nd ODI October 24 Indore
3rd ODI October 27 Pune
4th ODI October 29 Mumbai
5th ODI November 1 Trivanthapuram
1st T20I November 4 Kolkata
2nd T20I November 6 Kanpur-Lucknow
3rd T20I November 11 Chennai




Comments are closed.