Hetmyer Scores 81 Not Out In Sri Lanka Loss

Bravo Takes Final Bow On World Stage, West Indies...

5th November 2021 Comments Off on West Indies Women To Open World Cup Qualifying Campaign Against Papua New Guinea Views: 411 News

West Indies Women To Open World Cup Qualifying Campaign Against Papua New Guinea

ST JOHN’S, Antigua – The West Indies Women will open their ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup qualifying campaign on November 21 against Papua New Guinea at the Sunrise Cricket Club in Harare, Zimbabwe in the first of their four Group A fixtures. 

The ICC revealed the fixtures for the two-week qualifying tournament in Zimbabwe, which sees the West Indies Women playing three other Group A opponents – Sri Lanka, Ireland and the Netherlands – in the first phase of the Qualifier on November 23, 27 and 29 respectively. West Indies will be initially focused on winning their Group A matches to be one of the top three teams to reach the Super6 phase of the Tournament from December 1-5. The Super6  pits the top three teams from Group A against the top three teams from Group B  – consisting of Pakistan, Bangladesh, Thailand, Zimbabwe and the USA.

Group points will carry over into the Super6 phase with the six teams vying to finish in the top three to qualify for the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup in New Zealand from March 4 to April 3.

West Indies Women Training  - Pakistan series

Head Coach Courtney Walsh emphasized the importance of winning in both the group stage and Super 6s: 

“It is important that we try to win all our group stage matches and also in the Super 6s as only three teams have the chance to qualify. If we do this, we are guaranteed one of the three spots up for grabs. I know it’s going to be very testing mentally and physically for the team as the games are so close to each other but we knew that beforehand and we’ve been preparing as such. I believe we have the right team combination to win as many as we can and qualify for New Zealand 2022.”

The top three qualifiers, as well as the fourth and fifth placed teams in the Super 6s phase, will also secure places in the next ICC Women’s Championship, which is expanding to feature ten teams and will determine automatic qualifiers for the next edition of the ICC Women’s World Cup.

The West Indies Women are currently in Pakistan for a three-match ODI series as part of their final preparations for the ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifier. The West Indies Women will depart Pakistan on November 15 for Zimbabwe. All ICC Women’s World Cup matches will start at 9:30am local time (3:30am Eastern Caribbean/2:30am Jamaica).


  • Stafanie Taylor (captain)
  • Anisa Mohammed (vice-captain)
  • Aaliyah Alleyne
  • Shemaine Campbelle
  • Shamilia Connell
  • Deandra Dottin
  • Sheneta Grimmond
  • Chinelle Henry
  • Qiana Joseph
  • Kycia Knight
  • Kyshona Knight
  • Hayley Matthews
  • Chedean Nation
  • Shakera Selman
  • Rashada Williams

Travelling Reserves

  • Cherry Ann Fraser
  • Shabika Gajnabi
  • Karishma Ramharack


  • Group A: West Indies, Sri Lanka, Ireland, Papua New Guinea, Netherlands
  • Group B: Pakistan, Bangladesh, Thailand, Zimbabwe, USA


  • November 21 – West Indies vs Papua New Guinea, Sunrise Cricket Club
  • November 23 – West Indies vs Ireland, Old Hararians
  • November 27 – West Indies vs Sri Lanka, Old Hararians
  • November 29 – West Indies vs Netherlands, Sunrise Cricket Club


December 1:

Super 6 Match 21 – Old Hararians

Super 6 Match 22 – Harare Sports Club

Super 6 Match 23  – Sunrise Cricket Club

December 3:

Super 6 Match 24 – Old Hararians

Super 6 Match 25 -Harare Sports Club

Super 6 Match 26 – Sunrise Cricket Club

December 5:

Super 6 Match 27 – Old Hararians

Super 6 Match 28 – Harare Sports Club

Super 6 Match 29 – Sunrise Cricket Club

All matches start at 9.30am local time in Zimbabwe, 3.30am Eastern Caribbean time, 2.30am Jamaica time.


Comments are closed.