Batters Get In The Groove, Set Sight On 1st...

West Indies Women Name Squad For 1st And 2ND...

28th November 2022 Comments Off on West Indies To Take A Knee Before Tests In Australia Views: 212 News

West Indies To Take A Knee Before Tests In Australia

West Indies Black Lives Matter

West Indies to take a knee
 before Tests in Australia

The West Indies Team will continue to take a knee during the upcoming two-match Test Series in Australia. The players will also continue to wear the Black Lives Matter logo on their playing shirts. This was also done during the two-match T20 International (T20I) Series against Australia in October ahead of the matches in the Gold Coast and Brisbane.

West Indies first took a knee back in July, 2020 when they toured England for Test series and have continued to do so since as it demonstrates full support for the fight against racism, inequality and injustice.

The logo on the shirt was designed back in 2020 by Alisha Hosannah, the partner of Troy Deeney, a professional footballer in the English Premier League. He was contacted by Cricket West Indies (CWI) and permission was granted for the logo to be displayed on the collar according to ICC regulations. The logo has a clenched fist in place of the letter “A” in the word “Black”.

Black Lives Matter - Flag.jpg

Additionally, the West Indies will join the Australians in observing the barefoot circle on of the opening morning of the first Test. The barefoot circle is a cricket centric way for players and teams to take a moment prior to matches to acknowledge the traditional owners of the land, connect to each other as opponents and pay respect to the country (land).

West Indies will play the first Test against Australia at the Perth Stadium in Western Australia from 30 November to December 4. The second Test will be at the Adelaide Oval in South Australia from 8 to 12 December. This will be a day/night fixture played under lights. It will be the first pink ball Test for West Indies in Australia. The two teams will compete for the prestigious Sir Frank Worrell trophy.

Full Squad: Kraigg Brathwaite (Captain), Jermaine Blackwood (Vice Captain), Nkrumah Bonner, Shamarh Brooks, Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Roston Chase, Joshua Da Silva, Jason Holder, Alzarri Joseph, Kyle Mayers, Anderson Phillip, Raymon Reifer, Kemar Roach, Jayden Seales, Devon Thomas

Full Tour Schedule

30 November to 4 December: 1st Test at Perth Stadium, Perth

8-12 December: 2nd Test at Adelaide Oval, Adelaide (day/night)


Comments are closed.