India Take Final T20I As James Bats Solidly On...

Walcott And Ambris Lift Hosts To 243, Trinis Solid...

31st January 2023 Comments Off on T&T Face Windwards To Get The Ball Rolling For West Indies Championship 2023 Views: 258 News

T&T Face Windwards To Get The Ball Rolling For West Indies Championship 2023

Jason Mohammed T&T 2023

The stage of all set for the start of 2023 West Indies Championship. The six franchises are all set for the first round which bowls off in Grenada and Antigua. First match will see home side Windward Islands Volcanoes hosting Trinidad & Tobago Red Force at the Grenada National Stadium, as first-class cricket makes a welcome return to the Spice Isle.

Both Trinidad & Tobago and Windward Islands have new captain – with young left-hander Alick Athanaze at the helm for the home team and experienced left-hander Darren Bravo leading the visitors.

Athanaze said:Athanaze West Indies A 2022

“It’s a huge honor to be asked to lead the team. We have a great group of players and I’m happy to lead the team. We are a strong unit and we have a very well balanced team and playing at home in the first two matches will be an advantage. I am happy with the way we have prepared and I believe we will have a very good season.”

Bravo:Darren Bravo T&T red force

“I’m looking forward to the challenge of captaining the national team. I’m sure I will do well. There is a level of experience within our set-up and we are confident going into the first match, I don’t see any reason why we won’t do well. It’s important to control the controllable, to focus on our own game and do the basic well.”

Preston McSwean Windwards 2023

Justin Greaves Windwards 2023

Trinidad & Tobago Red Force: Darren Bravo (Captain), Amir Jangoo, Imran Khan, Jason Mohammed, Terrance Hinds, Jyd Goolie, Jeremy Solozano, Yannic Cariah, Bryan Charles, Vikash Mohan, Uthman Muhammad, Tion Webster, Khary Pierre; David Furlonge (Head Coach)

Windward Islands Volcanoes: Alick Athanaze (Captain), Jerlani Robinson, Kavem Hodge, Keron Cottoy, Sunil Ambris, Justin Greaves, Tevyn Walcott, Kenneth Dember, Preston McSween, Teddy Bishop, Daurius Martin, Kimani Melius, Ryan John; Shirley Clarke (Head Coach)

Over in Antigua we will have two matches, starting on Wednesday. Defending champions Barbados Pride will look to make it three titles in a row when they face archrivals Guyana Harpy Eagles at the Sir Vivian Richards Sir Vivian Richards Stadium. The other encounter will see Jamaica Scorpions taking on Leeward Islands Hurricanes at Coolidge Cricket Ground. The Jamaicans will be looking to do the “double” following on from their capture of the CG United Super50 title in Antigua last November.

Barbados Pride: Shane Dowrich (Captain) Camarie Boyce, Shamarh Brooks, Jonathan Drakes, Keon Harding, Chaim Holder, Akeem Jordan, Nicholas Kirton, Jair McAllister, Shayne Moseley, Zachary McCaskie, Shamar Springer, Kevin Wickham; Vasbert Drakes (Head Coach)

Guyana Harpy Eagles: Leon Johnson (Captain), Veerasammy Permaul (Vice Captain), Chandrapaul Hemraj, Matthew Nandu, Kemol Savory, Tevin Imlach, Anthony Bramble, Kevin Sinclair, Nial Smith, Ronsford Beaton, Akshaya Persaud, Ashmead Nedd, Shamar Joseph; Ryan Hercules (Head Coach)

Jamaica Scorpions: Paul Palmer jr (Captain), Jamie Merchant, Alwyn Williams, Aldaine Thomas, Leroy Lugg, Kirk McKenzie, Romaine Morris, Abhijau Mansingh, Patrick Harty, Akim Fraser, Marquino Mindley, Gordon Bryan, Ojay Shields; Andrew Richardson (Head Coach)

Leeward Islands Hurricanes: Jahmar Hamilton (Captain), Rahkeem Cornwall (Vice Captain), Mikyle Louis, Kieran Powell, Colin Archibald, Terance Warde, Jeremiah Louis, Keacy Carty, Montcin Hodge, Kofi James, Damion Williams, Sheeno Berridge, Hayden Walsh jr; Stuart Williams (Head Coach).

First ball daily is 10am (9am Jamaica Time) and matches will be streamed LIVE on the Windies Cricket YouTube channel. Fans can follow each and every game from their mobile devices, computers or connected TVs, including access to live ball-by-ball scoring on the live match centre.

Please see below the list of Match officials appointed for the first and second rounds of the West Indies Championship four-day first-class tournament

All matches start at 10am Eastern Caribbean time (9amJamaica time)

GNS – Grenada National Stadium, Grenada

SVRS – Sir Vivian Richards Stadium, Antigua

CCG – Coolidge Cricket Ground, Antigua


31 January to 3 February – Grenada

Windward Islands Volcanoes v Trinidad & Tobago Red Force at GNS

Umpires: Gregory Brathwaite, Nigel Duguid

Third umpire: Jonathan Blades

Match referee: Patrick Felix

1 to 4 February – Antigua

Barbados Pride v Guyana Harpy Eagles at SVRS

Umpires: Carl Tuckett, Patrick Gustard

Third umpire: Christopher Taylor

Match referee: Vanroy Burnes

1 to 4 February – Antigua

Leeward Islands Hurricanes v Jamaica Scorpions at CCG

Umpires: Zahid Bassarath, Deighton Butler

Third umpire: Bernard Joseph

Match referee: Reon King


8 to 11 February – Grenada and Antigua

Windward Islands Volcanoes v Guyana Harpy Eagles at GNS

Umpires: Gregory Brathwaite, Jonathan Blades

Third umpire: Nigel Duguid

Match referee: Patrick Felix

Leeward Islands Hurricanes v Trinidad and Tobago Red Force at SVRS

Umpires: Patrick Gustard, Christopher Taylor

Third umpire: Bernard Joseph

Match referee: Vanroy Burnes

Jamaica Scorpions v Barbados Pride at CCG

Umpires: Carl Tuckett, Deighton Butler

Third umpire: Zahid Bassarath

Match referee: Reon King


Comments are closed.