Cricket West Indies Confirms Super50 Cup Teams and Schedule

Cricket West Indies Issues New Retainer Contracts

1st October 2018 Comments Off on Third T20 International Abandoned Views: 1104 News

Third T20 International Abandoned

TAROUBA, Trinidad – The torrential rains which affected the south of Trinidad early Sunday afternoon, proved too much for the ground staff and umpires at the Brian Lara Cricket Academy to handle.  It led to the abandonment of the 3rd T20 in the Sandals International Home Series.

Although by the time the teams took the field to warm-up, there was no rain, the weather had already taken its’ toll on the outfield.

After three separate full-length inspections, umpires Jacqueline Williams, Joel Wilson and Zahid Bassarath (3rd) decided that soggy spots within the 30 yard circle would be a safety hazard for the players.

The absence of a result in this fixture, means that the series remains 2-0 in favour of the WINDIES Women, with the next match scheduled for Thursday, October 4.  The WINDIES Women will be keen to tie up a series win in that encounter, with South Africa now only being able to draw the series at best.



WINDIES WOMEN: Stafanie Taylor (captain), Merissa AguilleiraShemaine CampbelleShamilia Connell, DeandraDottinAfy Fletcher, Sheneta GrimmondQiana Joseph, KyciaKnight, Hayley Matthews, Natasha McLean, Anisa Mohammed, Chedean Nation, Karishma RamharackShakera Selman

SOUTH AFRICA WOMEN: Dané van Niekerk (captain), Chloe Tryon (vice-captain), Mignon du PreezMarizanne KappMasabata KlaasLizelle Lee, Suné LuusZintle Mali, RaisibeNtozakhe, Robyn Searle, Tumi Sekhukhune, Saarah Smith, Faye Tunnicliffe, Laura Wolvaardt




Sun 16             1st IWC One-day International – South Africa Women won by 40 runs – Kensington Oval, Barbados

Wed 19            2nd IWC ODI – No result – Kensington Oval

Sat 22              3rd IWC ODI – WINDIES Women won by 115 runs – Kensington Oval

Mon 24            1st Twenty20 International – WINDIES Women won by 17 runs – Kensington Oval


Fri 28               2nd T20I – WINDIES Women won by 9 wickets- Brian Lara Cricket Academy, Trinidad

Sun 30             3rd T20I – Brian Lara Cricket Academy – Abandoned 



Thu 4               4th T20I – Brian Lara Cricket Academy

Sat 6                5th T20I – Brian Lara Cricket Academy




Comments are closed.