Desperate teams seek signs of better times

Sir Viv wants full support for Simmons

14th April 2015 Comments Off on Red Force players back to work Views: 1421 News

Red Force players back to work

After a less than impressive First Class season, the 15 players centrally contracted by the T&T Cricket Board (TTCB), will turn up for work at the Sir Frank Worrell Cricket Centre in Balmain, Couva this morning. President of the TTCB, Azim Bassarath said yesterday that all contracted players will show up for work this morning. “Remember we have contracted these players to play for T&T and they are paid a monthly salary.

“We are not taking things lightly, we are going to treat these players like employees of the Board and they will have to show up to continue their development as cricketers. “We are not going to just pay a monthly salary to players and they don’t show up to train and do other duties when they have no cricket. The players have to understand their obligations under this retainer system and I am confident they will turn out.”

T&T won the Nagico Super50 series and came in fifth in the WICB Professional Cricket League (PCL). Bassarath is calling for much improved performances going forward. “The players will meet tomorrow, with the technical staff and they will plan their schedule accordingly. We are disappointed over their performances in the PCL and we would like that they put in the hard work that will see a much improved performance moving forward. We are confident that our cricketers will improve once they follow the plan set out by our technical team headed by Gus Logie.

“Once they come out and do the required hard work, they would improve individually and this would lead to improved performances by the team as a whole. “We at the TTCB will continue to monitor the progress of the players under retainer and would work closely with the technical team to make sure that we achieve the level of results that we want.”

Contracted players

The 15 contracted players are: , Adrian Barath, Evin Lewis, Jason Mohammed, Lendl Simmons, Steven Katwaroo, Nicholas Pooran, Imran Khan, Shannon Gabriel, Marlon Richards, Rayad Emrit, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Bryan Charles, Jeremy Solozano, Akeal Hosein, Yannick Ottley.

Taken from the Trinidad Guardian

Comments are closed.