Australia favourites to clinch fourth straight WT20 crown

West Indies Women gun down 149 for maiden WT20...

3rd April 2016 Comments Off on Unchanged Australia Women opt to bat in final Views: 1411 News

Unchanged Australia Women opt to bat in final

Toss Australia Women chose to bat v West Indies Women

Live Scorecard

Meg Lanning won the toss on a humid day as an unchanged Australia Women opted to bat in the grand finale of the World Twenty20 at Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

Australia, who are eyeing their fourth successive World T20 title, headed into the game with an impressive 8-0 head-to-head record over West Indies Women, for whom this is a maiden appearance in the summit clash.

This was the first game in over a week at Eden Gardens, and Lanning said the fresh surface looked to be a belter. “It has an even covering of grass, hope that means the ball will carry through nicely,” Lanning reasoned. “It is nice to have played in big games before, but the past doesn’t matter. Whoever adapts quickly will have the best crack at it [winning the title].”

Stafanie Taylor, Lanning’s opposite number, also announced the same line-up that did duty in their six-run win over New Zealand Women in a tense semi-final in Mumbai. “We were looking to bat first too,” Taylor said. “The wicket did surprise us, with the grass here but it could be deceiving, so we’re not too worried. We are excited, today could be a very special day for West Indies.”

Lanning, who also led Australia to the title in 2014, insisted a tough semi-final clash against England had ensured best-possible preparation. “That was one of the toughest games I have played in,” she said. “West Indies would pose a similar challenge, no doubt. We have three hours of hard work ahead of us.”

Australia Women: 1 Alyssa Healy (wk), 2 Elyse Villani, 3 Meg Lanning (capt), 4 Ellyse Perry, 5 Alex Blackwell, 6 Jess Jonassen, 7 Beth Mooney, 8 Erin Osborne, 9 Megan Schutt, 10 Rene Farrell, 11 Kristen Beams

West Indies Women: 1Hayley Matthews, 2 Stafanie Taylor (capt), 3 Britney Cooper, 4 Deandra Dottin, 5 Stacy-Ann King, 6 Merissa Aguilleira (wk), 7 Shemaine Campbelle, 8 Shaquana Quintyne, 9 Anisa Mohammed, 10 Afy Fletcher, 11 Shamilia Connell

Taken from ESPN Crininfo

Comments are closed.