Narine, Pollard in WI squad for first four tri-series...

Kantasingh takes 51 scalps in local cricket

20th May 2016 Comments Off on Two Under-19s in President’s XI squad Views: 1567 News

Two Under-19s in President’s XI squad

ST JOHN’S – West Indies Under-19 players Shimron Hetmyer and fast bowler Alzarri Joseph have been named in the 13-man WICB President’s XI squad, announced by the WICB Selection Panel.

The team will face South Africa in a day/night 50-over match at Queen’s Park Oval on Sunday, May 29 at 1 p.m.

Hetmyer was the captain and Joseph the leading fast bowler in the West Indies Under-19 team which won the ICC Under-19 World Cup in Bangladesh in February.

The WICB President’s XI will be led by Test opening batsman Kraigg Brathwaite. The squad also includes left-hander Evin Lewis, who was a member of the West Indies team, which won the ICC World T20 in India last month.

Several other players with international experience have also been selected, including batsmen Jermaine Blackwood and Jason Mohammed, wicket-keeper Shane Dowrich, left-arm spinner Nikita Miller and allrounder Rayad Emrit.

The Proteas are using the match as part of their preparations for the upcoming Tri Nation ODI Series, which also features West Indies and Australia.

Full Squad: Kraigg Brathwaite (Captain), Shimron Hetmyer, Jermaine Blackwood, Damion Jacobs, Shane Dowrich, Jason Mohammed, Evin Lewis, Alzarri Joseph, Jon Russ Jaggesar, Andre McCarthy, Nikita Miller, Rayad Emrit, Delorn Johnson. Team Management: Graeme West (Manager/Coach), Vasbert Drakes (Coach), Oba Gulston (Physiotherapist), Zephyrinus Nicholas (Strength and Conditioning Trainer).

Taken from the Barbados Nation

Comments are closed.