Shimron Hetmyer Audio | ICC Cricket World Cup Preparations

Jason Holder Audio | ICC Cricket World Cup Warm-Up...

27th May 2019 Comments Off on Taylor Stars With The Bat While Fletcher Spins West Indies Women To Victory Views: 1027 News

Taylor Stars With The Bat While Fletcher Spins West Indies Women To Victory

DUBLIN, Ireland- A captain’s knock of 75 from 53 balls from Stafanie Taylor and 4/14 from Afy Fletcher saw the West Indies Women secure a comfortable 64-run victory over Ireland Women in the first T20 of the three-match Hanley Energy T20 International series, played at the YMCA Cricket Club in Dublin.

The West Indies won the toss and elected to bat first on a sunny but cold day in Dublin but were in trouble early when Hayley Matthews was runout at the non-strikers end for 3. Opening batter Britney Cooper was joined by Stafanie and the pair consolidated nicely, posting a 47-run partnership before Cooper fell for 20. Shemaine Campbelle then joined Stafanie and the pair built the West Indies innings sharing in a 75-run partnership. Taylor showed why she’s one of the most feared batters in the women’s game, as she sliced, cut and drove the ball around the YMCA ground. Shemaine had some brilliant strokes of her own, getting to 20. Both Shemaine and Stafanie fell in quick succession of each other.

Ireland’s captain Laura Delany did not bat in their innings as she left the ground to seek medical attention after being hit on her foot while fielding off her own bowling.

West Indies Women Won the Toss and elected to bat first



139/4 (20 overs)

Taylor 75, Campbelle 20, Cooper 17


Raack 1/16, Garth 1/19



75 all out (18.4)

Garth 46, Waldron 6


Fletcher 4/14, Henry 2/15



  1. Stafanie Taylor (captain)
  2. Hayley Matthews (vice-captain)
  3. Britney Cooper
  4. Afy Fletcher
  5. Karishma Ramharack
  6. Chedean Nation
  7. Chinelle Henry
  8. Kycia Knight
  9. Kyshona Knight
  10. Shakera Selman
  11. Shamilia Connell
  12. Shemaine Campbell
  13. Natasha McLean
  14. Stacy Ann King


Ireland Tour Schedule

1st T20 International- May 26, YMCA Cricket Club, Dublin

2nd T20 International- May 28, Pembroke, Dublin

3rd T20 International- May 29, Pembroke, Dublin






Comments are closed.