Carter gets ODI call

Windies capitulate to heavy defeat

21st December 2014 Comments Off on Staying with Sammy Views: 1354 News

Staying with Sammy

ST JOHN’S, Antigua – All-rounder Darren Sammy continues to lead the West Indies Twenty20 team.

It was a show of confidence for the St Lucian allrounder by the West Indies cricket Selection Panel.

“We have some very good cricketers who have done very well in the T20 format. We will again be led by Darren Sammy, who led us to a World Cup. He has been the leader for quite a while and I’m sure he will galvanise the players to look to win the series,” Clive Lloyd, chairman of selectors said.

Samuel Badree and Krishmar Santokie are also on the injury list, joining Kemar Roach who was injured on the current tour of South Africa.

Ashley Nurse returns to the Windies squad after a three year hiatus and will team up with Barbadian countryman Sulieman Benn in handling spin duties.

“We will be without Badree and Santokie, who have both been excellent in the bowling department for us, but we have again introduced some new faces and expect them to acquit themselves very well.”

All selections are contingent upon players signing the Match Tour Contract.

West Indies Twenty20 Squad:

Darren Sammy (Captain), Sulieman Benn, Carlos Brathwaite, Dwayne Bravo, Sheldon Cottrell, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle (subject to fitness test), Jason Holder, Ashley Nurse, Kieron Pollard, Denesh Ramdin, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Lendl Simmons, Dwayne Smith.

Schedule of Matches

December 10-12: vs SA Invitational XI at Willowmore Park, Benoni – Match Drawn

December 17-21: 1st Test – South Africa won by an innings and 220 runs – SuperSport Park, Centurion

December 26-30: 2nd Test – St George’s Park, Port Elizabeth

January 2-6: 3rd Test – Newlands, Cape Town

January 9: 1st T20I – Newlands, Cape Town

January 11: 2nd T20I – New Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg

January 14: 3rd T20I – Kingsmead, Durban

January 16: 1st ODI – Kingsmead, Durban

January 18: 2nd ODI – New Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg

January 21: 3rd ODI – Buffalo Park, East London

January 25: 4th ODI – St George’s Park, Port Elizabeth

January 28: 5th ODI – SuperSport Park, Centurion (PR/SAT)

Taken from the Barbados Nation News

Comments are closed.