MENU

10th July 2018 Comments Off on Joseph In; Roach Has Been Ordered to Rest Views: 118 Main Content, News

Joseph In; Roach Has Been Ordered to Rest

KINGSTON, Jamaica – Young fast bowler, Alzarri Joseph is in the 13-man Test Squad to face Bangladesh in the 2nd Test to start at Sabina Park this Thursday. Joseph on his return to international cricket was the most successful bowler for the President’s XI side vs Bangladesh with 4 for 53 from 15 overs just under two weeks ago. Absent from the squad is Kemar Roach who has been ordered to rest following a hamstring strain in the first innings of the Test in Antigua that the WINDIES won by an inning and 219 runs.

The squad reads:

  1. Jason Holder – Captain
  2. Devendra Bishoo
  3. Kraigg Brathwaite
  4. Roston Chase
  5. Miguel Cummins
  6. Shane Dowrich
  7. Shannon Gabriel
  8. Shimron Hetmyer
  9. Alzarri Joseph
  10. Shai Hope
  11. Keemo Paul
  12. Kieran Powell
  13. Devon Smith

The win in the first Test, saw some positive movements in the ICC rankings for several players. Roach, 20th and Brathwaite, 16th are now in the Top 20 in bowling and batting respectively; while Captain Holder moves up two places to 52nd and to 23rd in the bowling. Other players to be tagged in the ranking are Powell up five places to 61st and Cummins, up 12 places to 55th.

Here are the scenarios for the WINDIES based on results in this two-match Test Series, which could see the team move up from the current 9th-placed Test ranking:

  • Drawn series – Bangladesh 75; WINDIES 72
  • WINDIES win 1-0 – WINDIES 75, Bangladesh 69
  • WINDIES win 2-0 – WINDIES 77, Bangladesh 67

BANGLADESH TO WEST INDIES 2018 (Start time in brackets)

Thu, Jun 28 to Fri, Jun 29 Tour Match – Coolidge Cricket Ground, Antigua (10 am daily) – MATCH ENDED IN A DRAW
Wed, Jul 4 to Sun, Jul 8 1st Test – Sir Vivian Richards Cricket Ground, Antigua (10 am daily)

WINDIES WIN BY AN INNING AND 219 runs

Thu, Jul 12 to Mon, Jul 16 2nd Test – Sabina Park, Jamaica (10 am daily)
Thu, Jul 19 Tour Match – UWI Vice Chancellor’s XI vs Bangladesh, Sabina Park (9:30 am)
Sun, Jul 22 1st One-day International – Guyana National Stadium, Guyana (9:30 am)
Wed, Jul 25 2nd One-day International – Guyana National Stadium (2:30 pm)
Sat, Jul 28 3rd One-day International – Warner Park, St. Kitts (9:30 am)
Tue, Jul 31 1st Twenty20 International – Warner Park (8 pm)
Sat, Aug 4 2nd Twenty20 International – Central Broward Regional Park, United States (8 pm)
Sun, Aug 5 3rd Twenty20 International – Central Broward Regional Park (8 pm)

 

-CWI

 

Comments are closed.