Coach Reifer Gives Thumbs Up To Training Camp Ahead...

Barbados and Windward Islands Remain Undefeated After Round Three...

2nd August 2019 Comments Off on Jason Mohammed Replaces Andre Russell in West Indies T20I Squad Views: 1042 News

Jason Mohammed Replaces Andre Russell in West Indies T20I Squad

FORT LAUDERDALE, Florida – Cricket West Indies interim selection panel has named Jason Mohammed as the replacement for Andre Russell in the first and second matches of the MyTeam11 Twenty20 International Series, co-sponsored by Skoda and Fena. Mohammed, the experienced 32-year-old, has so far played nine T20 Internationals and also captained the West Indies in T20 Internationals and in the 50-over format.

Russell was named in the original 14-member squad for the first and second matches T20s subject to him passing a fitness assessment prior to the series. The allrounder experienced some discomfort while at the GT20 tournament in Canada and informed the interim selection panel of his unavailability for the upcoming series.

West Indies are the reigning ICC World T20 champions and will face India at the Broward County Stadium in the United States on Saturday and Sunday. The final match will be played at the Guyana National Stadium next Tuesday. First ball daily is 10:30am (9:30am Jamaica Time).

“We welcome Jason Mohammed into the squad for the first two T20 matches here in Florida. He is a player with lots of experience in all three formats and – having done well for Trinidad & Tobago as well as Guyana Amazon Warriors,” said Floyd Reifer, West Indies interim head coach.

“It is not easy to the fill the shoes of someone like Andre Russell, who has dominated T20 cricket all over the world and helped West Indies win the ICC T20 World Cup on two occasions. We believe Jason is capable of good performances and we back him to perform at this level and win games as well.”

Carlos BRATHWAITE (Captain)St. Kitts & Nevis Patriots3138
Anthony BRAMBLEGuyana Amazon Warriors280
John CAMPBELLSt. Lucia Stars251
Sheldon COTTRELLSt. Kitts & Nevis Patriots2913
Shimron HETMYERGuyana Amazon Warriors2211
Evin LEWISSt. Kitts & Nevis Patriots2720
Sunil NARINETrinidad & Tobago Knight Riders3148
Keemo PAULGuyana Amazon Warriors2113
Khary PIERRETrinidad & Tobago Knight Riders273
Kieron POLLARDTrinidad & Tobago Knight Riders3259
Nicholas POORANGuyana Amazon Warriors2311
Rovman POWELLJamaica Tallawahs2520
Jason MohammedGuyana Amazon Warriors329
Oshane THOMASJamaica Tallawahs227

FULL MATCH SCHEDULE – India to West Indies 2019 

Sat, Aug 3: 1st MyTeam11 T20 –Broward County Stadium, Lauderhill, Florida

Sun, Aug 4: 2nd MyTeam11 T20 –Broward County Stadium

Tue, Aug 6: 3rd MyTeam11 T20 – Guyana National Stadium, Guyana

Thu, Aug 8: 1st MyTeam11 ODI – Guyana National Stadium

Sun, Aug 11: 2nd MyTeam11 ODI – Queen’s Park Oval, Trinidad

Wed, Aug 14: 3rd MyTeam11 ODI – Queen’s Park Oval

Sat, Aug 17 to Mon, Aug 19: Tour Match – Coolidge Cricket Ground, Antigua

Thu, Aug 22 to Mon, Aug 26: 1st MyTeam11 Test – Sir Vivian Richards Cricket Ground, Antigua

Fri, Aug 30 to Tue, Sep 3: 2nd MyTeam11 Test – Sabina Park, Jamaica


Comments are closed.