New Stadium pitches will be ready for WI/Pakistan ODI’s

Katich takes over from Helmot at TKR

16th January 2017 Comments Off on GCB President urges Guyana Jaguars to play to their full potential Views: 1427 News

GCB President urges Guyana Jaguars to play to their full potential

PRESIDENT of the Guyana Cricket Board (GCB) Drubahdur, has urged the players representing Guyana in the 2017 NAGICO Regional Super 50 tournament, to play to their full potential. Drubahdur is of the opinion that once that is achieved, Guyana can easily win their tenth coveted title at this level.
“My message to them is to just go out there and play to their full potential. The last two years we went to a point and it seems that we are just unable to get over, so they need to put that behind them and just cross the hurdle,” the GCB President revealed.
The Guyana Jaguars 14-man squad includes seven players who have represented the regional side in Tests, One Day Internationals (ODIs) and Twenty20s, and according to the GCB President, the squad is a balanced unit, especially with the inclusion of veteran batsman Shivnarine Chanderpaul.
“If you look at the squad, its very balanced – batting and bowling–and with Shiv (Chanderpaul) being there, and with the experience, I think we should bring the title home,” Drubahdur concluded.
Guyana last won a Regional 50-over title under the captaincy of Shivnarine Chanderpaul almost 12 years ago when the South Americans defeated Barbados in rapidly fading lights in the KFC Cup final at the GCC ground, Bourda.
Prior to that, Guyana reigned supreme in 1980, 1983, 1985, 1993, 1995, 1998, 2001 and 2003.

Guyana Jaguars have been drawn in Group B, which will be played in Barbados, alongside Jamaica Scorpions, Barbados Pride, Combined Campuses and Colleges Marooners and ICC Americas.

Group A, to be played in Antigua, comprises defending champions Trinidad and Tobago Red Force, host Leeward Islands Hurricanes, West Indies Under-19s, Windward Islands Volcanoes and English county side Kent.

The squad reads: Leon Johnson (captain), Veerasammy Permaul (vice-captain), Anthony Bramble (wkp), Shimron Hetmyer, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Christopher Barnwell, Raymon Reifer, Rajendra Chandrika, Steven Jacobs, Assad Fudadin, Devendra Bishoo, Ronsford Beaton, Paul Wintz and Jonathan Foo.

The management staff comprises Esaun Crandon (head coach), Rayon Griffith (assistant coach) and Ernesto Gonzalez (Physiotherapist).

Taken from the Guyana Chronicle

Comments are closed.